Local Government Election 5 May 2022

The next Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Election will be held on Thursday 5 May 2022 to elect the 29 councillors who will serve on the Council's 11 multi-member wards.  There are 6 two-member wards, 3 three-member wards and 2 four-member wards.

List of Wards
Ward Number Ward Name Members to be Elected
1 Barraigh agus Bhatarsaigh 2
2 Uibhist a Deas, Èirisgeigh agus Beinn na Faoghla 3
3 Uibhist a Tuath 2
4 Na Hearadh 2
5 Sgìre nan Loch 2
6 Sgìr’ Ùige agus Carlabhagh 2
7 An Taobh Siar agus Nis 3
8 Loch a Tuath 3
9 Steòrnabhagh a Tuath 4
10 Steòrnabhagh a Deas 4
11 Sgìre an Rubha 2

Maps of the council multi-member wards are available from the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland (Opens in a new window or downloads a file).  The current arrangements, including maps showing the current Polling District boundaries are available to view via the links provided below:-

Polling Places

If you are interested in standing for council, guidance and resources are provided on the Electoral Commission (Opens in a new window or downloads a file) website or the Improvement Service (Opens in a new window or downloads a file) website.

The Elected Office Fund Scotland is being administered by Inclusion Scotland and disabled people seeking election as a candidate at the Local Government Elections 2022 may apply for financial assistance.  Further information is available on then the Inclusion Scotland (Opens in a new window or downloads a file) website.

The election will be conducted using the `Single Transferable Vote' (STV) system with voters in each ward indicate their preference of first, second, third etc. candidates. A quota and formulae system then decides who is elected, based on the preferences as indicated by the voters.

Contact Details

  • Election Office
  • 01851 822613 (Fax: 01851 705349)
  • elections@cne-siar.gov.uk
  • Council Offices
    Sandwick Road
    Isle of Lewis
    HS1 2BW