In accordance with the Representation of the People Act 1983, as amended, and further amended by the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013, all polling districts and polling places should be reviewed at least every 4 years.

A polling district is a geographical area created by the sub-division of a UK Parliamentary constituency for the purposes of a UK Parliamentary election.  In Scotland, each electoral ward must be divided into two or more polling districts unless there are special circumstances.

A polling place is the building or area in which polling stations will be selected by the Returning Officer.  A polling place within a polling district must be designated so that polling stations are within easy reach of all electors from across the polling district.

A polling station is the room or area within the polling place where voting takes place. Unlike polling districts and polling places which are fixed by the local authority, polling stations are chosen by the relevant Returning Officer for the election.

The aim of the review is to ensure that:

  • All electors in each constituency have reasonable facilities for voting.
  • So far as reasonable and practical, the polling places that the Comhairle is responsible for are accessible to all electors. In considering suitable polling places, the Comhairle must ensure that they are accessible for people with disabilities.

Please note this review does not cover the changing of ward or constituency boundaries, these boundaries are determined by the Boundary Commission for Scotland (Opens in a new window or downloads a file).

Review Timetable
20 July 2020 Commencement of review/existing polling scheme available for inspection
14 August 2020 Closing date for initial comments on existing polling scheme
21 August 2020 Publication of the Comhairle’s draft proposals and Returning Officer’s comments (Opens in a new window or downloads a file)
18 September 2020 Closing date for representations on the draft proposals
30 September 2020 Final proposal submitted to Comhairle
5 October 2020

Publication of the outcome of the review

Comments and representations may be made in writing to Derek Mackay, Governance and Elections Manager, Chief Executive’s Department, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Council Offices, Sandwick Road, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, HS1 2BW or, via email  Persons or bodies making representation should, if possible, give alternative venues that may be used as Polling Places.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions existing arrangements are not available for inspection at the main Council Offices in Stornoway, Tarbert, Balivanich and Barra.  The current list of polling places, polling places with maps and photographs and a map showing the current polling district boundaries are available to view via the links provided below:

List of Polling Places

Polling Places with Maps and Photographs (13.1MB) (Opens in a new window or downloads a file)

Map of Polling Districts (Opens in a new window or downloads a file)

Since the last Statutory Review the following polling places have changed following consultation with the local community.

  • (E01A) Castlebay Fire Station – The Fire Station is fully accessible and provides improved parking next to the building.
  • (E02D) Sgoil Uibhist a Tuath, North Uist – The previous polling place was demolished.
  • (E04A) Balallan Old School – This was used for the first time at the UK Parliamentary General Election in December 2019. The polling place is within the newly renovated Balallan Hub and provides improved parking and access for electors.
  • (E08C and E08D) Loch a Tuath Community Hut – This polling place has two polling stations with large electorates. It is proposed to explore alternative venues within the Back/Coll areas which would provide improved parking and access.  At the UK Parliamentary General Election the polling place was situated in Back Free Church Hall.
  • (E08E) Tolsta Community Development Ltd. – This polling place was changed in 2017 following local consultation.

There are no changes planned in relation to polling districts.  However the Review will consider the new Local Government Wards that will be introduced for the 2022 Comhairle Election in order to ensure alignment.

The deadline for initial comments is 5.00pm, Friday 14 August 2020.  The draft proposals and Returning Officer’s comments will be published on 21 August 2020 and there will be a further opportunity to make representations.