By-Election – 8 October 2020

Na Hearadh agus Ceann a Deas Nan Loch Ward

A By-Election will be held on Thursday 8 October 2020 to elect a Councillor to serve the Na Hearadh agus Ceann a Deas Nan Loch Electoral Ward for Comhairle nan Siar following the resignation of Councillor Finlay Cunningham.  Na Hearadh agus Ceann a Deas Nan Loch is a three Member ward and the two remaining Councillors are Paul A. Finnegan and John G. Mitchell who were elected at the last Local Government election in 2017.

 The Notice of Election was published on Friday 28 August 2020 and Nomination Forms for prospective candidates are now available and these can be lodged with the Comhairle from 10.00am on Monday 31 August 2020 August.  The close of nominations is by 4.00pm on Monday 7 September 2020.


Nomination papers can be downloaded or obtained by contacting the Election Office and must be submitted by 4.00pm on Monday 7 September 2020.  Election staff can informally check your nomination papers by email prior to submission.  However, when formally lodging your nomination papers this must be done in person.  Therefore please telephone or email the Election Office to arrange a suitable appointment.

Contact Details:

Election Office

Council Offices

Sandwick Road


Isle of Lewis


Tel:  01851 822613

Fax:  01851 705349