# **CARLOWAY COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

Minute of Meeting held in the Church of Scotland Hall, on Tuesday 14 November 2023 at 7.30pm

PRESENT Inga Benga (Chair)

Susanne Erbida Alex Macdonald Iain D Macleod Janette Macleod

Jimmy Myles (Co-opted Member)

Cllr Ranald Fraser
Cllr Norman Macdonald

IN ATTENDANCE Angus Macleod

Derek Mackay

APOLOGIES John Malcolm Macaskill

2

5

#### **CONSTITUTION**

Election of 1 Chairman Mr Derek Mackay, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, called for nominations for Chair of the Community Council.

It was agreed to appoint Inga Benga as Chair of the Community Council.

Election of Vice-Chairman The Chair called for nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Community Council.

It was agreed to consider the appointment of Vice-Chair of the Community Council at the next meeting.

Appointment of 3 Treasurer

The Chair called for nominations for the appointment of Treasurer of the Community Council.

It was agreed to appoint Iain D Macleod as Treasurer of the Community Council.

Appointment of 4 Clerk The Chairman called for nominations for the appointment of Clerk to the Community Council.

It was agreed to appoint Susanne Erbida as Clerk of the Community Council.

Governance Documents Mr Derek Mackay provided an update on the Scheme of Establishment, Standing Orders, Code of Conduct and draft Constitution. It was noted that the main changes made in the revised Scheme were to increase the minimum number of members from four to six, introducing a mechanism to fill casual vacancies through co-option and holding the AGM in May or June each year.

The Community Council agreed to:

1) approve the Constitution.

- 2) Co-opt Jimmy Myles.
- consider co-opting the three residents who had submitted late nomination papers at the next meeting. The three residents would be invited to attend the next meeting.

### **Previous Minutes**

The minute of meeting of 29 August 2023 was circulated. It was noted that Mr Iain D Macleod had been cleaning the toilets at Dalmore since the resignation of the previous cleaner.

### It was agreed to:

- 1) approve the minute.
- 2) Appoint Mrs Martha Warburton, 14 Knock as cleaner for the Dalmore toilets at a rate of £15 per hour.
- 3) Ask the Comhairle to provide stands for the bins at Dalmore.
- 4) Note that Iain D Macleod would update the skip rota.
- 5) Note that Mr Iain D Macleod would get an update on the grant for an emergency generator.
- 6) Pay Mr Iain D Macleod an honorarium of £500 for cleaning the Dalmore toilets. Mr Macleod indicating that he would be donating the money to Carloway Free Church.

## AOCB

9 Mr Alex Macdonald indicated that he would be resigning as a Member of the Community Council and wished the councillors well for their term of office. Mr Macdonald was thanked for his invaluable contribution to the work of the Community Council as both a member and as Local Member.

Mr Angus Macleod, previous Chair, was invited to address the meeting. Mr Macleod thanked the previous Community Council Members who had assisted him during his terms of office and wished the new Community Councillors well. Mr Macleod indicated that priorities identified by the previous Community Council were improvement of the Garenin Road which were essential following the development of the Deep-Water Harbour and the anticipated increase in tourism this would bring. A further priority was the provision of social housing in the area to help address population decline. Potential sites for housing had been identified and the Community Council should continue to engage with the Comhairle and HHP.

The Community Council thanked Mr Macleod for his update on priorities and for his many years of service as Chair of the Community Council.