Sgoil Lionacleit Successful at National Debate 2019

The final of the 2019 National Gaelic Schools Debate took place at the Scottish Parliament on Thursday 5th December.

The 2019 winners, Joanne and Marion from Sgoil Lionacleit.

A very lively debate was heard with Joanne Laing and Marion MacCorquodale from Sgoil Lionacleit going up against Raonaid Campbell and Hamish Scott from Sgoil Sir E Scott. Sgoil Lionacleit eventually came out victorious.  Raonaid Campbell from Sir E Scott was presented with the best debater award. 

The committee would like to thank the organizations who helped to fund and support this year’s Debate - The Scottish Government, Loganair, The SQA, Bòrd na Gàidhlig, Skills Development Scotland, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Highland Council, Glasgow City Council, Comunn na Gàidhlig, Radio nan Gàidheal and Education Scotland.