Sgoil Lionacleit an Aghaidh Sir E Scott

Sgoil Lionacleit's team, comprising of Joanne Laing and Marion MacCorquodale, faced their opponents Lewis Boag and Finlay Maclennan from Inverness Royal Academy. Both teams did their school proud but it was Sgoil Lionacleit who secured a place in tomorrow evening’s final.

In the second debate of the evening, Sorley Johnston and Blair Mills from Bishopbriggs Academy debated against Raonaid Chaimbeul and Hamish Scott of Sir E Scott. Both teams demonstrated some fine debating skills and the judges found it a tough decision but they came to the conclusion that it would be Sir E Scott who would be taking part in the final tomorrow evening.

The final between Sgoil Lionacleit and Sir E Scott will be held in the Scottish Parliament this evening (Thursday 5 December) and will be broadcast live on BBC Radio nan Gàidheal from 7pm. Chairing the event will be Eilidh Grant, a regular face on BBC Gaelic news output. The debating topic will be - “In 20 years time, the real Gàidhlig communities will be situated in the big cities”

The judges in this year’s competition are Agnes Rennie (Manager of Acair Books Ltd), Boyd Robertson (retired former Head at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig) and Iain Stephen Morrison (freelance journalist).

The final will also be broadcast live on the Scottish Parliament’s website. Go to Parliament Tv for 7pm on Thursday 5th Decmber to watch live. It will also be available afterwards to catch up, edit, download and share on demand.