Sports Council

"Supporting Local Sport"

Lewis and Harris Sports Council is an association of local sports clubs and organisations, which works together with Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar and Western Isles Health Board to foster and develop sport in Lewis and Harris.


The main objectives of the Sports Council are-

  • To encourage co-operation co-ordination between sports groups
  • To assist in the formation of sports clubs
  • To encourage school pupils and school leavers to participate in sport
  • To promote or support competitions and sports events
  • To promote sports coaching courses for young people
  • To promote coach education courses
  • To promote and encourage sporting links with the Uist and Barra Sports Council and other neighbouring Sports Council


The Sports Council operates through an Executive Committee, which is elected at the Annual General Meeting in October.

The Executive Committee of the Sports Council is made up of a truly representative cross-section of the wide variety of sporting interests in Lewis and Harris.  These volunteers, alongside elected members and officers of Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar, Western Isles Health Board and other bodies assist in the decision making process and disburse available funds in a prudent manner.

Executive Committee 2022-23

Honorary President
Charlie Nicolson

Liz Rogers

Kenneth Morrison

Donald E Macleod

Steven Munro (ex-officio member)


Sports Representatives



Eilidh Mackay

Isle of Lewis Gymanstics Club

Stuart Macleod

Harris Gun Club

David Campbell

Stornoway Golf Club

David Hanlon

Swim Western Isles

Brian Lewis


Ron Mighton

Stornoway Sailing Club

Cameron Cranston

Angling Association

Donald Lamont

Lewis Camanachdh

Marion Finlayson

WI Pony Club

Iain McFee

Stornoway Rugby Club

Norman Macaskill


Ellen McMurdo

Nicolson Rep

Joel Ferguson

Nicolson Rep

Sir E Scott Rep

Paul Finnegan

Harris Rep

Carolyn Macphee

Harris Rep

David Macleod

PE Rep

Murray Macinnes

Football Rep

Kirsty Baird

Youth Rep

Gordon Mop MacDonald LHYCA Rep
Murdo Smith Further Education


Ex-officio Members

Sergeant DJ Macleod / PC Gary Muir

Police Scotland

Norman Tomsh MacDonald


Erica Clark

CLD Rep Community Education

Jeane Mackay / Karen Peteranna

Western Isles Health Board


Euan Macleod

Community Hub Officer

Tony Wade

WI Sports Facility Manager

Iain GG Campbell

WI SDS Manager


Dates of Executive Committee Meetings 2022/23
(Venue: CNES Sandwick Rd, Stornoway, VC CNES Tarbert)
Month Date Time

November 2022

14 November 2022


January 2023

24 January 2023


March 2023

22 March 2023


June 2023



August 2023



AGM to be held in October 2023.

Meeting dates are open for discussion at the meetings.

Steven Munro